Friday, January 1, 2016

Dealing With Grief

Happy New Year!  Alright... let's see if I can blog at least once a month this year =)

Lots of ups and downs in 2015...  celebrated new beginnings... like at my cousins wedding... and mourned an ending... the loss of my grandmother.  With all the holiday activities, I haven't had a chance to properly grieve, but as I begin planning the coming memorial and as extended family prepare to gather... I've been remembering and missing my dear ah-ma.

Many are familiar with the 5 Stages of Grief:
  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance
Not everyone goes through the stages in a particular order.  Grief can look very different from person to person and there is not really a right or wrong.  Many factors play into how one deals with loss.  Recognizing the stages may help us identify what we are feeling and may help better equip us to cope. Having a good support system is essential.  It is also important to seek counsel, especially if activities of daily living are being negatively affected.

This is a picture of my ah-ma (grandma) after she got engaged to my ah-gong (grandpa).

I miss you and love you, ah ma.